The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced Wednesday six appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board.

Five appointees will serve three-year terms and one will serve a one-year term to complete the term of a board member who resigned.

Current members appointed to the board are: Conley Nelson, Algona, IA; Karen Richter, Montgomery, MN; and Roy Henry, Longford, KS.

The newly appointed members representing pork producers are: Henry E. Moore, III, Clinton, NC; Glen Walters, Barnesville, GA; and Janice Miller, Belden, NE.

The six appointees were selected from among eight pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers during its Delegate Body meeting in March in Phoenix, AZ. Miller will serve a one-year term to complete the final year of resigning board member Gene Nemechek, DVM, of Arkansas.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to provide their time and expertise,” says USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack. “I am confident that pork producers and importers will be well served by them.”

USDA reports there were 69,100 pork operations in 2010, representing about 64 million pigs at the start of 2011. USDA lists the top pork-producing states as Iowa, North Carolina, Minnesota, Illinois and Indiana.

The Pork Board was established in 1985 under the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act to develop budgets and award contracts to carry out a coordinated program to strengthen pork’s position in the marketplace.

The mandatory Pork Checkoff is funded by an assessment of 0.4% of market value of all hogs sold in the United States and an equivalent amount of imported hogs, pork and pork products. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the board.