Three members of the Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty have been appointed to a national air quality task force.

Hongwei Xin and Robert Burns, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering professor and associate professor, respectively, and Jerry Hatfield, director of the National Soil Tilth Laboratory and a collaborating professor of agronomy, will serve on the Agricultural Air Quality Task Force. Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer recently appointed 25 people to the new task force.

Task force members will review research that addresses air quality issues related to agriculture and provide advice on implementation of air quality policy and research needs.

The appointments are for two years.