Outgoing president Steve Weaver, pork producer from Elk Grove, CA, was recognized during the National Pork Industry Forum, March 5-7 in Dallas, TX. Weaver will continue as president of the National Pork Board through August.

"As president, Steve led the industry during a particularly difficult time," said Pork Board Vice President Tim Bierman, Larrabee, IA. Steve brought the business perspective to the board in a time when producers were struggling to remain profitable because of the highest feed costs in history, animal rights advocates took aim at production practices, and the national economy presented the greatest challenges since the Great Depression. He never wavered from his belief that pork producers working together can surmount almost any challenge.”

Pork producers Dianne Bettin, Truman, MN and Dennis Michael, Yankton, S.D., were also honored for six years of service to the National Pork Board during the annual banquet.

Bettin and her husband, Doug, have 350 sows, marketing 6,000 pigs annually. She serves on the Demand Enhancement Committee, Nutrition Committee, Audit Committee, Pork Safety Committee and the Plan of Work and Budget Task Force.

Michael is a partner in BPM Seedstock, a farrow-to-finish operation with 250 sows. Michael currently serves on the Producer Services Committee and the Administrative Committee.

The National Pork Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members.