Shelby, NE, veterinarian David Madsen has been elected president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV). President-elect is Lisa Tokach, DVM, Abilene, KS. New vice president is Rick Sibbel, DVM, Ankeny, IA, Schering-Plough Animal Health.

Winner of the Howard Dunne award is William Mengeling, DVM, USDA’s National Animal Disease Center, Ames, IA. The AASV Meritorious Service Award goes to Connie Schmidt, DVM, Worthington, MN. Max Rodibaugh, DVM, Frankfort, IN, is recipient of the Swine Practitioner of the Year Award.

There were 810 attendees at the 32nd annual meeting held recently in Nashville, TN.