Two new heads of university animal science departments were announced recently.

Iowa native Maynard Hogberg, a member of the animal science faculty at Michigan State University for 27 years, including 18 years as department chair, has been named the chair of the Department of Animal Science in Iowa State University's College of Agriculture.

Hogberg succeeds Susan Lamont, who served a two-year term and will return to research and teaching duties in the department.

Neal Merchen, a member of the University of Illinois faculty since 1981, was named head of the Department of Animal Sciences. Merchen has served as acting and interim head since 2001.

He succeeds Robert Easter, who was named dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences.