Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD) announced that he will not seek reelection next year. He has been a strong advocate for packer ban legislation and mandatory country-of-origin labeling (COOL). Other senators who have announced that they are retiring are Senators Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Mike Johanns (R-NE), Frank Lautenberg (D-NF), Carl Levin (D-MI) and Jay Rockefeller (D-WV).