Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer has appointed 155 pork producers and eight pork importers to the 2008 National Pork Producers Delegate Body.

The delegates were picked from nominees submitted by state pork producer associations and importer groups. All appointees will serve a one-year term.

Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of checkoff assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive and nominate producers and importers to the 15-member National Pork Board. The delegate body will be seated during the National Pork Industry Forum March 6-8 in St. Louis, MO.