The U.S. and the four Central American countries of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua have signed a Central America Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), announces the National Pork Producers Council (NPPC).

“The Central America nations wanted to exclude pork from the CAFTA, but our trade ambassadors, supported completely by President Bush and members of Congress on both sides of the aisle, did not let us down,” remarks Jon Caspers, NPPC president.

Table 1. Tariff Rate Quotas Under CAFTA (Central America Free Trade Agreement
Country Initial Quota (tons) Yearly Quota Growth Rate
El Salvador 1650 10% (165 tons)
Guatemala 4345 5% (217 tons)
Honduras 2200 7.5% (165 tons)
Nicaragua 1100 10% (110 tons)

Under CAFTA, there will be tariff rate quotas (TRQs) for U.S. pork products to be exported to each of the four countries (Table 1). The TRQs will increase yearly until the 15th year of the agreement, when all pork trade with these countries will be duty-free.